Day's Left until I become Mrs. Smith :)
2006-02-22 at 3:49 p.m.

Ups and downs

My weight fluctuates alright. Last Sunday I did a test. I got up and weighed in at 146. That was without drinking any water, peeing, having a BM, eating breakfast and before working out.

I then went to the gym on an empty stomach - always want to burn existing cals and not the calories from my most recent meal - and then came back to weigh in at 142.2.

I try to weigh in at the same time and after doing my workout. I don't drink water while I work out. I find it very distracting. If I'm really thirsty I will have a sip or so from the water fountain, but I do not nor have I ever consumed water during my workouts. I do chug 32-64 oz right after my weigh in once I get home. I'm usually super thirsty AND hungry by then ;).

The first day I started my challenge I weighed in after working out on an empty stomach in the morning, naked, pre water guzzling in my bathroom on the our digital scale. I try to do this every day so that I can keep a current baseline of what my body is doing and how it is reacting to my plan.

I generally fluctuate 2 lbs up or down a day. I know this by looking at my daily weigh ins. I try not to get frustrated, but I still do sometimes ;). I want things to go faster or be more consistent, but our bodies don't work like that.

I know my body is very particular on when it will allow a BM to occur. TMI yeah, but it is a factor with my weigh in as well. On the weekend when I can usually sleep in a bit, workout, have a BM and then weigh in, I know it will usually be at my lowest weight. Monday is my official weigh in day so I know that, that low number will most likely not be my official number, but it might be the next official weigh in number after that ;). It shows me that my body is progressing downwards. Slowly but surely.

I'm eating a lot of protein and complex carbs right now that are hard to digest. But hey, that's the point right? It makes my metabolism work harder to get the much needed nutrients that are required to help rebuild muscle, increase muscle growth & strength and it helps keep me satiated while I cut calories and keep my body moving on a daily basis. So far so good. But the BM's are still a pain :(. I drink more than a gallon of water a day, but that isn't helping. Oh well this is nothing new. My body just doesn't like to give it up ;). Moving on...

Lifting weights has never really been my focus before, but it is now. It is doing amazing things for my body right now so it keeps me motivated to keep increasing my weights and try new moves/lifts that I've never tried before to keep challenging my body. I carry myself differently now. I like feeling the muscles in my back and my arms flex doing basic everyday things. I like feeling solid and lean all the while maintaining my feminine curves. I will never be a skinny girl. But I DON'T want to be one either. I'm starting to feel comfortable in my skin. God made me muscular & athletic for a reason. Z has told me this a million times, but I still secretly hoped that one day I could transform this body into something more petite and girlie. I no longer feel that way. I'm proud of my muscular legs and that I can lift a lot of weight with them and that they can carry me long distances on runs. I like that back muscles twitch when I flex my back. I like my newly developing biceps, triceps and delts. More and more women are lifting weights and eating more protein. I can not subsist on salads and fiber alone!! I need me some meat! My body needs it and I feel better eating it. I love all types of veggies as well, but I try to eat both of them together with complex carbs. I've never felt this good before or had these results. Hopefully I remember this if I ever deviate from this plan.

The basic idea is eat fewer calories and move, move, move! I would say more specifically eat more dense foods (protein and complex carbs) that have fewer calories but more nutrients and lift weights and do cardio together to get the most benefits. This is all just my opinion though. It works for me, so I'm sticking to it ;). Just thought I would share for some stupid reason... Everyone is different, so there are many different plans that work successfully for many different people. I'm just happy I've finally found a plan that is working for me. I've long since stopped WW, because I wasn't getting the results I used to when I was heavier and I was starving all of the time and couldn't stay within my points with my level of high activity. Now I feel more in control ANd I'm getting results and not starving. I'd say that is progress, wouldn't you? Consistency is the key right?

Previous | Next

|


(Face painting from dinner at Teatro ZinZanni)

(Engaged 9/16/05)

(Z & A in Leavenworth 12/2004)

(Z & I at Mt. Aix with Bumping Lake behind us)

(Z & A on vacation in BC)

ABOUT ME: A 30 year engaged female trying to build the ultimate body!!! Lean and strong. Fueling my body as needed. I want to challenge myself to see what I can become.

� Age:29.5
� HT: 5'5"
� PSW: 198
� CSW: 153 (1/30/06)
� GW: 135.0 (Reached on 4/5/06)
� Total weight lost=64

WK1: 146.2 (-6.8) 1/6/06
WK2: 144.6 (-1.6) 2/13/06
WK3: 143.4 (-1.2) 2/20/06
WK4: 141.2 (-2.2) 2/28/06
WK5: 141.0 (-0.2) 3/6/06
WK6: 139.4 (-1.6) 3/13/06
WK7: 138.2 (-1.2) 3/20/06
WK8: 136.0 (-2.2) 3/29/06
WK9: 134.8 (-1.2) 4/5/06
WK10: 134.8 (0) 4/12/06
WK11: 134.0 (-0.8) 4/19/06
WK13: ?


current
previous
next
archives
profile
notes
design
guestbook
host
image
email

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from anibow02. Make your own badge here.

amyella
beth's better blog
carrie
caustic musings
deflabbed
fitchick
heather
her muscle fitish
jenn
jessi's 1st challenge
jessi's new challenge
jessi & tom
lia
many fires
mary's blog
pink bunny foo foo
rebecca
renee
sara
skwigg
snackiepoo
stumptuous
supafreak
teresa
Tory
trish

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com