Day's Left until I become Mrs. Smith :)
2004-08-03 at 10:15 a.m.

And they say you can't go back...bah!

So Z and I went on a 6 mile run last night that was exquisite. The sun was setting and it had finally cooled off and there weren't too many noisy cars driving by. It was by far the best run I've had for a while. My right arch and ankle was bothering me a bit, but over all I felt great - after the first 20 to 30 minutes heh.

I hate the first part of running. Getting you're breathing regulated. Getting you're pace down, making sure you're shoulders are loose etc. etc. Once my body was warm and my mind started to wander I really started to enjoy it. At first I was dreading not brining my mp3 player, but it ended up being really nice to just zone out without the music blaring in my ears and being able to carry on little conversations with Z.

It's been at least 2 weeks since either one of us ran and it felt great. I felt like I could of kept going, but it was a good first run and Z reminded me not to over do it since I have plenty of running days before me since I've decided that I will run the Seattle Marathon 2004. I'm just going to do it. I have 4 months to train and am in pretty good shape, but there is obviously room for improvement. This will help motivate me to keep pushing myself and to try to get the last 10-15 lbs off. Not to mention I want to run my first marathon so bad I can taste it. I've been thinking about it on and off for the last 3 years and promised myself I would do my first one before I turn 30. I'm 28 now, so I have some time, but I'll be 29 in December 2004 and the marathon is in November 2004, so it seemed like a good time to try.

I was browsing the internet and before I knew it I was on the website and started to browse the names and photos of the female finishers of 2003. I saw a name of a girl I went to high school with and decided then and there that I was going to do my first in 2004. Before I formally signed up I decided I should discuss it with Z first since whatever changes I make to my daily schedule will touch his a bit as well. He is very supportive but said he would put a stop to it if he saw that I was in pain and pushing myself too hard thus most likely further damaging my feet and ankles. I agree I would listen if it comes to that, but now I'm all excited!!! :)

I ran the Seattle half marathon in 2002, but didn't do any formal races in 2003. I'm really looking forward to this. I just need to remember to take it one day at a time and I want to make sure that I enjoy it.

I realized that running makes me feel confident in myself. It proves all the nay sayers wrong including my own self doubt without a word being uttered. My body felt light and strong on my run last night. Like I could have run forever. Maybe I'll do my long run tonight. We'll see if my body is up for a 10 mile run. If not I'll do a shorter one.

Workout log:

6 miles with Z



Previous | Next

|


(Face painting from dinner at Teatro ZinZanni)

(Engaged 9/16/05)

(Z & A in Leavenworth 12/2004)

(Z & I at Mt. Aix with Bumping Lake behind us)

(Z & A on vacation in BC)

ABOUT ME: A 30 year engaged female trying to build the ultimate body!!! Lean and strong. Fueling my body as needed. I want to challenge myself to see what I can become.

� Age:29.5
� HT: 5'5"
� PSW: 198
� CSW: 153 (1/30/06)
� GW: 135.0 (Reached on 4/5/06)
� Total weight lost=64

WK1: 146.2 (-6.8) 1/6/06
WK2: 144.6 (-1.6) 2/13/06
WK3: 143.4 (-1.2) 2/20/06
WK4: 141.2 (-2.2) 2/28/06
WK5: 141.0 (-0.2) 3/6/06
WK6: 139.4 (-1.6) 3/13/06
WK7: 138.2 (-1.2) 3/20/06
WK8: 136.0 (-2.2) 3/29/06
WK9: 134.8 (-1.2) 4/5/06
WK10: 134.8 (0) 4/12/06
WK11: 134.0 (-0.8) 4/19/06
WK13: ?


current
previous
next
archives
profile
notes
design
guestbook
host
image
email

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from anibow02. Make your own badge here.

amyella
beth's better blog
carrie
caustic musings
deflabbed
fitchick
heather
her muscle fitish
jenn
jessi's 1st challenge
jessi's new challenge
jessi & tom
lia
many fires
mary's blog
pink bunny foo foo
rebecca
renee
sara
skwigg
snackiepoo
stumptuous
supafreak
teresa
Tory
trish

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com