Day's Left until I become Mrs. Smith :)
2005-01-05 at 11:05 a.m.

New Year, new start on weight loss

I signed up for Jenny Craig yesterday. I'm really excited to give this a try for a few months. I figure I might actually save money on food when purchasing my meals to start, since I felt like I was always running to the store to get this and that because it sounded good and then we would go out on top of that as well, so the $$$ for food probably added up, but I never really paid attention.

Z wants to save some money too since we did some pretty good spending in the month of December. Maybe he's saving for my ring ? Naw, we're both interested in saving some cash for up coming events and travel.

He would like to start cooking large batches of meals from the South Beach diet book he bought a while ago and I think it's a great idea. We kept talking about it but we just need to schedule time to do it, go to the grocery store to get the stuff to make it, cook it all up and pack it away in the refrigerator. He likes the idea of not having to fuss with what to eat, what we need to make it, and how long will it take to cook while being hungry when trying to do it. I totally agree. I do not do well when I'm hungry.

I've been sucking at portion control and I miss the weight watcher community feel I used to get going to the meetings, so I decided to try something new to revamp the New Year and take off the extra pounds I've gained. I knew it was slowly creeping up and I wanted to stop it now before it got too crazy. I weighed in at 162.5 in the evening, fully clothed (with jeans and a sweater on and TOM is this week though I've seen no sign of it yet and I skipped my last period completely so I'm very bloated), without my boots but I know that naked I probably still weigh 157 or so which is not where I want to be. I remember weighing in at 145 or 147 naked and I was still striving to get lower. I know that I can't dwell on past losses. I can only look forward and make my dreams a reality by taking action, so I did that last night. I've never done a program like this but I really like the one-on-one consults and the individual weigh ins. I like the fact that I can find a consultant that I get along with and can really talk to about my weigh issues or just that I had a bad day. Z said that it seemed like we always talked about food and weight and how I feel in relation to those things. I guess I need someone other than Z to talk to about that type of stuff and it seems that my weight consultant would be the perfect person. I also like the fact that I can choose a menu or be given a menu that all I have to do is follow it. No trying to figure out what to eat, what I need to buy, how to pack it, how to cook it, when I need to eat it etc. I just need to grab the items listed on my menu pack it in my lunch bag and go. I had already been eating oatmeal bars to go and frozen lean cuisines and smartones so the J3nny Cra1g meals are not that much different. I really like the fact that my breakfasts are really easy to pack and eat. I got to eat French toast this morning with fruit on top! That was a real treat. I haven't had something like that for a while and it was healthy. I like that they try to teach moderation and not trying to deprive yourself of the things you consider "bad".

Once you reach 1/2 of your weight loss goal they start having you incorporate your own meals so that you can get used to making good selections and cook the foods you want to eat on a daily basis a little at a time. I'm trying to be open minded and ready to try something new. It will be nice when I can cook and eat dinner with Z again and the South Beach diet meals should be fine and fit in the program pretty well but we'll see.

I was totally surprised when she brought out a little basket full of food for just one week after my consultation. I just started to giggle, because I wasn't expecting it, but how else was I going to get my food, right? heh. In a lot of ways it similar to w31ght watch3r$ but it's different in all the right ways right now to make me feel like I'm going to have a fresh start. I would like to lose 20 pounds in three months but I'll take whatever I can get. I would like to be down around where I was when I met Z around our 1 year anniversary which is March 23rd, so that is around 15-17 lbs, but we'll see.

The nice part about the meeting was that we didn't really need to talk about my activity since I'm still going to the gym about 4-6 times a week and really enjoy it. This is more about learning portion control and eating balanced meals at regular intervals and not having to count points. Let's face it I wasn't doing it so it was time to try something new. . I hope to loose weight, have peace of mind about food, and save money. My short term goal is to have my 8's fit more loosely on my legs, waist, and butt. My next weigh in is next Tuesday at 6pm. hopefully things will go well and I'll lose at least 2 lbs. I won't be eating out for a while, but hey that is saving money right? I can have alcohol once or twice a week but they encourage you to not drink the empty calories. I agree, so I'm going to be trying to stay away from it while I try to loose the bulk of my weight in the next 3 months. The internet special had a deal where you loose all the weight you want in 60 days for $49 plus the cost of food so I'm going to finish that out and then see what I want to do.

Today didn't get off to a great start. I forgot to grab the frozen items of my lunch out of the freezer so I only got half of it and had to go back, so I was really hungry for breakfast by 10:20am. I was already late this morning after not giving myself enough time to scrap the ice from my car, warm it up, then I got stuck in traffic and then finally get into the office to then have to turn around to go back to get my food. Oh well the world keeps turning right? It can only get better. I felt much better right after eating my French toast though... :)

My body is still sore from snowboarding but I'm just going to keep moving and one day it won't hurt anymore. It's always the worst in the morning. Z and I will keep working out in the evening for the time being since that seems to be the best time for us to go. It helps that we both go at the same time anyways because it is so very easy to say "it's too late, might as well keep watching TV". I'll just accept that for now. If we start getting to get earlier than 1am then maybe I'll think about it again but the frosty car is another deterrent for me. Maybe that will change but for right now it doesn't seem worth the cold, scraping of my windows and what not to get to the gym in the morning. I'm still playing this one by ear.



Previous | Next

|


(Face painting from dinner at Teatro ZinZanni)

(Engaged 9/16/05)

(Z & A in Leavenworth 12/2004)

(Z & I at Mt. Aix with Bumping Lake behind us)

(Z & A on vacation in BC)

ABOUT ME: A 30 year engaged female trying to build the ultimate body!!! Lean and strong. Fueling my body as needed. I want to challenge myself to see what I can become.

� Age:29.5
� HT: 5'5"
� PSW: 198
� CSW: 153 (1/30/06)
� GW: 135.0 (Reached on 4/5/06)
� Total weight lost=64

WK1: 146.2 (-6.8) 1/6/06
WK2: 144.6 (-1.6) 2/13/06
WK3: 143.4 (-1.2) 2/20/06
WK4: 141.2 (-2.2) 2/28/06
WK5: 141.0 (-0.2) 3/6/06
WK6: 139.4 (-1.6) 3/13/06
WK7: 138.2 (-1.2) 3/20/06
WK8: 136.0 (-2.2) 3/29/06
WK9: 134.8 (-1.2) 4/5/06
WK10: 134.8 (0) 4/12/06
WK11: 134.0 (-0.8) 4/19/06
WK13: ?


current
previous
next
archives
profile
notes
design
guestbook
host
image
email

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from anibow02. Make your own badge here.

amyella
beth's better blog
carrie
caustic musings
deflabbed
fitchick
heather
her muscle fitish
jenn
jessi's 1st challenge
jessi's new challenge
jessi & tom
lia
many fires
mary's blog
pink bunny foo foo
rebecca
renee
sara
skwigg
snackiepoo
stumptuous
supafreak
teresa
Tory
trish

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com